What does it look like to “seek God” and respond to His invitation to get to know Him? Below are a few examples of what my daily time with God can look like.  It varies from day to day, and He leads me.  That’s the beauty of it.  It is not an exhaustive list of what can be practiced when someone is seeking to grow in their time alone with God, nor is it final.  It’s also not the only way to seek God.  I am sure as I grow in maturity with the Lord, my heart and my practices will grow and develop as well.  I hope that these experiences can at least stir some ideas in your heart and mind that you can take with you as you seek Him.

WORSHIP – Worship is about getting the eyes of our hearts fixed on Him.  I usually start my time with God with headphones on because I try to be quiet as a mouse so not to wake my early rising children.  I listen to several worship songs and sing under my breath, awakening my heart to His worth and beauty.  Right now I am enjoying the worship albums by Bethel Live – an amazing church in Ca.  Check it out.

PRAYER– I love to ask God to show me what is on His heart to pray that morning.  It is powerful to sense that my prayers are fueled by the Spirit’s leading, and not just my own ideas. In general, I will also pray for my family- my hubby, our marriage and our kids, as well as for those in leadership above me, our nation’s leaders, my church leaders, my husband’s bosses at work.

SCRIPTURE.  I enjoy following the leading of the Holy Spirit with regards to what I read from the Bible- I usually sense His direction by remembering what He has stirred in my heart during the time of worship/prayer.  If nothing is “freshly” stirring in my heart, I have a scripture reading calendar that I follow.

To me, it feels like I am holding His steady hand when my heart grasps a scripture- it is a true, trustworthy, and strong hand that will not let me go. That is why I love to read the Bible- it shows me more of Him and I end up loving and trusting Him more as a result.

JOURNALING/LISTENING PRAYER.  As much as I like to talk to Him, He also likes to talk to me. I like to reflect in my journal the concerns I have in life, what I’ve been thinking about or struggling with.  After I take time to slow my thoughts down and write them out on paper, my heart is more focused and I am more open to God’s perspective.  As the Spirit of God helps me process through my struggles and questions I will write in my journal what I feel God is saying about those issues.  I don’t hear Him speak clearly every time I journal, but when I finish opening my heart to Him, I always sense His nearness and the truth of His promises coming alive to my situation.  This is also a time when I like to repent for ways I have not honored God or moments that I have chosen my own will over His.  He is so gentle and loving when He draws my wayward heart back to His best for me.

MEDITATION. If God said something to me in my time with Him, either in my prayers, in my scripture readings, or in my time of journaling and listening, I try to meditate on those words.   Usually God speaks to me through scriptures and I love to sit with those verses, reading them slowly several times and thinking about what they mean and how they apply to my life and our world.

SILENCE.  Ahh.  Silence. Sometimes this time of “just being” comes at the beginning of my time with God, and sometimes at the end…honestly, it depends on how awake I am!  I love to be silent, because I am available to God in a unique and vulnerable way when I just shut my mouth and posture my heart with quiet expectancy. There is a deep level of connection and comfort that can come when meeting God in the quietness of our minds, hearts and mouths.

**see the bottom section if you want a simple guide to apply all these ideas**

The bottom line is this:

SPENDING TIME WITH GOD IS ABOUT BEHOLDING HIM.

IT IS ABOUT RECEIVING HIS TENDER AFFECTION AND LETTING HIS TRUTH TOUCH YOUR HEART.  IT’S ABOUT RELATING WITH HIM.

IT IS ABOUT BEING TRANSFORMED INTO HIS LIKENESS AS WE ENCOUNTER HIM, BECAUSE

WE BECOME WHAT WE BEHOLD.

Have you ever considered that God has something to say to YOU…a word of love, healing and comfort?

What most often holds you back from giving Him a few minutes of your day?

What is one practice you can start doing today to get to know God better?

How has God touched you recently when you have spent time in His presence?