Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Apart from Christ, I am restless, distracted, and full of angst.  I am afraid, paranoid, and deeply insecure about who I am, who I appear to be, and who I will become.

In Christ, I have a rock-solid quietness in my soul that cannot be replaced by anything or anyone but Him.  Through knowing Him, I know the deepest place of security, inner freedom, and peace I can imagine.


Today…are you in Christ, or apart from Christ?   How does that feel?


As followers of Christ (those who are “in Christ”), we are heirs to the greatest promise of security that exists.  We get to receive the same inheritance as Christ, God’s son, because we are co-heirs with Him.  We know that we are accepted, known and cherished by God, just as Christ is accepted, known and cherished by God.  We are protected, led and loved by God.  We are secure in Christ and through Christ.

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine.  When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you.  When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, nor shall the flame scorch you.  For I am the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior…Since you were precious in My sight, You have been honored; and I have loved you.” Isaiah 43:2-4

Today, I ask myself, who am I?  In the face of my fears, in the face of my own failures as a mom, in the face of personal insecurities and immaturities, I am unsure about so much, but very sure of this one thing:

I AM SECURE IN CHRIST.

Everything in our world tries to distract us from knowing this reality, but we must s.l.o.w. down, consciously s.t.o.p. and r.e.s.t. in this truth.

Let it sink in.

Allow it to penetrate to the deepest levels of your heart.

 I AM SECURE IN CHRIST.

I choose to believe this post-resurrection reality, that comes from the eternal plans of God.  I choose to lay my restless soul on its foundation, trusting God to hold me close and form me according to His redemptive truth, not my current reality or experience.

I am not condemned by Him, but I am declared innocent and covered by His love…God is at work in and through me, even when I fall on my face, over and over again…There is mercy and grace for me, and He is not finished with the work He has begun in me…My future is set and secure in the palm of Jesus’ scarred hands…I am hidden with Him, who is seated at the right hand of God, above all things, people, circumstances, fears, insecurities, failures, and shortcomings…I do not have a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind…I am marked and sealed as Christ’s own forever…I am His and He is mine…I am sure of this.

Thank you Lord.  Thank you that this truth can affect not only my inner state of being, but it reaches out and affects the ways I react when life’s challenges hit me square in the face, the ways I approach my closest relationships, the ways I love the unlovely, the insecure, the ways I reflect my love for God to the watching world.

I am secure…
 
I am free from condemnation ~ Romans 8:1-2

I am assured that God works for my good in all circumstances ~ Romans 8:28

I am free from any condemnation brought against me, and I cannot be separated from the love of God ~ Romans 8:31-39

I have been established, anointed, and sealed by God ~ 2 Corin. 1:21-22

I am hidden with Christ in God ~ Colossians 3:1-4

I am confident that God will complete the good work He started in me ~ Philippians 1:6

I am a citizen of Heaven ~ Philippians 3:20

I have not been given the spirit of fear but of power, love, and a sound mind ~ 2 Timothy 1:7
 
I find grace and mercy in my time of need ~ Hebrews 4:16

I am born of God, and the evil one cannot touch me ~ 1 John 5:18

May you rest today, in the knowledge of God’s grace and mercy that covers you and His salvation that pursues your heart.  May it be, that “in returning and rest you will find salvation, and in quietness and confidence will be your strength.”  (Isaiah 30:15)

Confident and secure in Him alone,

~ Wrapped in His Affection ~