Tags

, , , ,

Made In The Shade…

That’s the name we gave an awesome tent that my dad designed for us at the beach…  Our Made in The Shade has been with us for several years and has served us well.  It’s basically a part of our family.   We are very proud of our dad for his invention…especially thankful for the enormous relief it is from the hot sun with all the little babies we have around these days. Actually, we just returned from a family trip to the beach and in our not-so-huge house were 8 adults and 4 kids under the age of 3.  It was quite a full house, at times a bit chaotic, but so much fun!

While at the beach I was spending some much needed time with Jesus and out of my mouth (maybe out of desperation) came the scripture…”I lift my eyes to the hills, where does my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth…who watches over me and is the shade at my right hand.”  Shade…how essential it is, and how much we miss it when there is none to be found.

Lately refreshing shade in my life…in my internal life…has been harder to find.  Oh how I need it.  God is not only the MAKER of all ALL THINGS, but he offers me the shade I desperately need…shade for my soul.

Life is better when we realize that not only do we all need a “Made in the Shade” to carry with us when we are outside, but we were actually MADE FOR THE SHADE…the shade of His presence.

With a lack of refreshing shade and cool breezes in this season of craziness, I find that I just want need to bask in the images of this scripture…to bask in this truth, this knowing, this invitation to rest and receive His protection and covering in the deepest places of my heart.   I crave the opportunity to lift my eyes up to Him and off of myself, my circumstances and the silly stresses of daily life (mostly revolving around tantrums, whining, and dramatic displays over little boo-boos…I am talking about my kids, of course 😉 ).

I need to find rest for my heart in Him, my Protection and my Shade- The Keeper of my Soul.  I believe we all were made for His shade.

May these precious words penetrate our chaos and be written on the tablets of our hearts forever.

Psalm 121

 1 I lift up my eyes to the mountains—
where does my help come from?
2 My help comes from the LORD,
the Maker of heaven and earth.

 3 He will not let your foot slip—
he who watches over you will not slumber;
4 indeed, he who watches over Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.

 5 The LORD watches over you—
the LORD is your shade at your right hand;
6 the sun will not harm you by day,
nor the moon by night.

 7 The LORD will keep you from all harm—
he will watch over your life;
8 the LORD will watch over your coming and going
both now and forevermore.

Heavenly Father,

Thank you that You watch over me with your kind and loving eyes.  I love that you see me through eyes of compassion and graciously offer me the refreshing gift of your presence, the invitation to curl up close to you and rest a while in Your shade. Thank you God that you will face the intense heat that I feel in my life and allow me to rest in the comforting shade that your nearness provides.  There is safety and refreshment in You.  I love being near You.  Help me to stop running around working up a sweat with worry, fear and frustration.  Give me grace to trust you as my Keeper and to remain in a place of rest with You, even as I go throughout my day today.

My Child,

As much as you love being in my shade, I love providing you with it.  I know the intensity of this world is overwhelming, but allow me to overwhelm you with My tender love and compassion.  Come, and rest in My shade.  Rest, knowing that I am the Keeper of your soul and that I will not abandon you, even in the hottest and most intense times of your life.  I do not sleep or slumber- I do not miss a heart-beat, a blink, a thought.  I will personally watch over your coming and your going forevermore.  I will consistently offer you the refreshing shade of My presence today and always.  Stop striving to find temporary and quickly fading relief from life’s intensity; come to Me and find the lasting protection and full covering you so desire.  I love it when you come close and realize that My shade, My presence, is enough for you. I delight in your nearness.  You were made to know and walk in the shadow of My wings, in the sureness of My presence.  Can you feel the deep peace that resounds in your soul as you rest in My shade?  Stay awhile.  You were made for My shade.

I love you with an everlasting love,

Your Maker and Savior

May you be restored in His refreshing presence today.

~Wrapped in His Affection~