Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Windshield Wipers: The PEOPLE God sends when the windshield of life gets foggy.

Have you heard of this type of person?  The Bible calls them iron…today, I am calling them windshield wipers.

But no matter what name you give them, these people are the friends who help us see more clearly, live more purposefully, and love more intensely; especially when the windshield and lens of our life get foggy.

I realized that lately then lens of my parenting has become a bit foggy.  I have forgotten the JOY of investing in my kids hearts and minds, and instead have been in “survival mode”, feeling overwhelmed by the slow hours that some days just don’t seem to pass.  I have felt overwhelmed by their needs and stages instead of seeking wisdom and peace regarding my role in meeting them.

I am sure it’s normal to feel this way sometimes, but I believe it is dangerous to have a foggy lens for too long; if we stay in the fog, we start losing ground that we are called to actively be taking and we miss precious opportunities that are here one day and gone the next.  We lose our passion and our hearts get hardened to the sweet gifts of everyday life, whether that’s our children, our spouses, our work, or our friends.

How often does the windshield of my life gets foggy?  For various reasons, too often.  This tells me two things:

  1. It is hazardous to have a foggy windshield; not only for myself, but for my friends and family who are along for the ride with me.
  2. We are not called to go this road alone- we need others who can journey with us and bring clarity when we have none.

Recently I was privileged to spend time in the home of a wonderfully godly wife, mother and an overall brilliant woman.  She is raising kids about the same age as mine, yet she has much more life experience and wisdom than I.  I was blessed by her clarity, her conviction in her child raising methods, and her fierce love for her family.  She is a woman of strength, character and confidence.  I witnessed how she is imparting those qualities and so much more to her children.  I want to be more like her.


I realize time with my kids is limited. I want to be fully present and intentional with every day I have with them, but I know I can't do it alone. I need friends who understand the journey and who can encourage me along the way.

After spending time with a wiser and more seasoned woman, I am seeing my life and my priorities with more lucidity. While I realize I do not have a firm grip on every area of parenting, I gained a deeper peace about settling into this new season of expecting a third baby, being intentional to love and instruct my older my kids and to “drive” in a more purposeful direction as a mom.

Time with this godly woman allowed me to see more of the mother I want to be and it gave her the chance to take the windshield wipers of love, truth and living by example and wipe them across the lens of my life, helping me to see more clearly and to better hold fast to the vision God has given me as a mom.

Let’s Bring it Home…

  • How’s the clarity of your vision–whether that is in parenting, work, marriage, spiritual growth, etc?  Do you know what you are doing in life, and why?  Are you consistently following through?
  • Who can be your “windshield wiper”…a person you spend time with who will not just tell you what you want to hear, but who will tell you and show you TRUTH lived out?
  • What’s his/her number?  Text that person now and set a date to see, hear, experience how they do what they do!  LISTEN more than you talk, then go home and write down what you learned.
As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.  Proverbs 27:17

I believe we are all called to be “iron” and to have “iron” in our lives, ever sharpening others and being sharpened so that we will be able to run with passion, purpose and clarity the race God has set before us.  Sometimes this is a friend, sometimes a mentor, sometimes a spouse.  Either way, don’t waste another day driving with a foggy windshield.  Our days are limited and we were designed to live life as each day were our last.  Ask God for help and seek out godly people who are already living the things you want to live.  Watch them, learn from them and pass along what you have gained to others.

Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom.

Psalm 90:12

Cheers to good friends and clear vision!

~Wrapped in His Affection~