Tags

, , , , ,

The angel delivered earth-shattering news to young Mary from the throne room of The Ancient of Days.

Promises from heaven were given, confirming what she had been taught all of her life…  what He had decreed through His prophets.

“Behold, a virgin will be with child and bear a son, and she will call Him Immanuel.”  (Isa. 7:14)

 “The Spirit of the LORD will rest upon Him, the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD.”          (Isa 11:2)

Fear at the appearance.  Shock at the news.  Humility in His presence.

“How could this be?” she asked. 

After 400 years of heaven’s silence, the Messiah came in the most unlikely of forms.  A poor virgin girl carrying the HOPE of the world.  It all seemed impossible.

The truth is, our God is a miracle working God.  The Holy Spirit hovered over her, and did what only He can do- the IMPOSSIBLE.  The power of the Highest overshadowed her and He fulfilled His promises.

Generations had been watching, waiting, praying.  All of creation anticipating, listening, for Him to take His first earthly breath on that quiet starry night.  The whole world, groaning for the restoration of all that had been broken, for the earth to be covered once again with the glory of the LORD, as the waters cover the sea.  Humanity desperate for all things to be made right, for life to be as it was intended by our good Father from the beginning.  He has come, finally come to make us right with God, right with each other…to heal our relationships, our diseases, our broken world.

It all started with promises that were seemingly impossible.

Mary’s reaction to such impossible promises?  A faith-filled “yes”…a RESPONSE of surrender, trust, and faith in what was unseen.

“Behold, the maidservant of the LORD!  Let it be to me according to your word…for the Mighty One has done great things for me; holy is His name.  His mercy is upon generation after generation towards those who fear Him.”  (Luke 1:38)

After she shared her news with Elizabeth, Elizabeth replied, “Blessed is she who believed, for there will be a fulfilment of those things which were told her from the LORD”.  (Luke 1:42)

I have yet to have an angelic appearance delivering a message from God, but God still offers His promises to me, to us all.  It is my prayer that I would be a joy-filled, faith-filled responder to the words of the Lord.  That I would be counted as a woman who believes the things told of me by God through His eternal word, the things declared to me by the Spirit in the quiet places of my heart.

I want heaven’s hosts to watch with joyful praise, (as they did on that historic day when Mary had her angelic encounter), as I live each day, each moment, as a responder to His promises.  I want to be tuned into His activity all around me, both in the ordinary and the extraordinary.  I want to walk through my simple life as one who believes the impossible is possible with our miracle-working God and responds with surrender to His good plans.

“My soul magnifies the LORD!” Luke 1:46