He came to fill the hungry with good things.  It’s a good thing, because today, I am hungry.

I woke up this morning in need.  Probably definitely in need of more sleep.  In need of “space” for myself.  In need of Him to fill my emptiness.  My kids are overcrowding my life, well, mainly my sleep, and this morning I could feel it- I had seen most of the hours on the clock pass by because one of my three kids were in need at various times of the night.  My alarm went off while it was still dark outside and I laid awake buried under my covers, looking at the ceiling, irritated at the day already.   I hadn’t even spoken or seen anyone yet.  Not a good start.

The holidays are merry, but very full and very busy.  I am tired, and I feel like there is not enough.  Not enough sleep, not enough time, not enough energy…you fill in the blank.

I stumble down the dark hallway, grab my coffee and sit at my kitchen table, looking for a way out of this funk, looking for something to fill my internal emptiness.  I am searching, hungry, for real soul-food.  I don’t even know where to look as I glance towards my Bible.  My heart is hungry for Him who satisfies, Him who calms, Him who brings peace, Him who gives meaning to it all.

As I sit in silence, gripping my hot mug of coffee, my cold heart begins to melt before the Lord.  I pick up my pen, and get honest with Him on the pages of my journal.  I tell Him how I am really doing inside, how I love Him, how I need Him.

And He comes like a refreshing rain.  He comes to fill.  His word comes alive.  Words that I have read many times before speak afresh to me this morning.  The bread of God’s word always nourishes, and is always fresh.

“He satisfies the longing soul, and fills the hungry with goodness.”            Psalm 107:9

Jesus said, “For the bread of God is He who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world…I am the bread of life.  He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.”                                  John 6:33-35

Bethlehem means “House of Bread”.  Do you think that was a coincidence?

The Bread of Heaven, the One who satisfies famished hearts and fills our deepest longings, was born in the city called “House of Bread”.  Thank you, Lord.  You know our frailties, our needs, our hungering souls that look to be filled.  You have provided the ultimate filling, the spiritual life that we were made to crave.  He has come.

“O Come Let Us Adore Him!”