Tags

, , , , ,

Year after year passes by.  Each year, marked by holidays that come and go.  Some fly by without me even noticing, while others are set apart as patriotic, reverent or fun.

Easter is one of those holidays that cries out for a holy pause of reflection and celebration.  But the events of Easter weekend can so easily slip by, being only vaguely recognized by a church service or family dinner.  The real meaning being overshadowed with the excitement of spring break, Easter egg hunts, and the first cook outs of the season.

This vague recognition of Love-In-Our-Midst is not unusual.  God, carrying the weight of our broken world on His back, suffering on behalf of mankind once and for all, was in their midst too.  Totally unrecognized by most who witnessed the events of Good Friday firsthand.

The earth-shattering events of Easter easily go unrecognized if we are not careful.  

This morning I was struck with awe as I re-read the account of Jesus’ trial and crucifixion on this Good Friday.  I was in awe how the religious leaders were face to face with God, and He was totally unrecognized in their midst.  Not only was He unrecognized, He was mocked, hated and humiliated.

The humble King who suffered on this Good Friday, paying the ransom for all of creation, was unrecognized.  Unseen for who He really was.

“The man Jesus Christ, gave Himself as a ransom for all.” 1 Timothy 2:6

I felt drawn to pull away from this sunny spring day and recognize the darkness He faced, the darkness He wore on that Good Friday.

As I read the sobering text, my heart was filled with worship.  Tears ran down my cheeks as I thanked this humble God-man for his unthinkable sacrifice and love.  As I thanked Him, I was reminded of this song by Rita Springer, called King of the Jews.

King of the Jews:

“Father the time has come when I know that I must leave.  Through these sweat blood and tears your face soon I will see.

Give me strength to be betrayed tonight and die.

Father, defend me, and maintain what I have said.  As they spit upon me now, crush these thorns into my head.  I hear an angry crowd call, “Crucify, the King of the Jews”.

“King of the Jews carry your cross.  Save yourself if you are who you say you are.”  King of the Jews, unrecognized.  “Did we hear you say that you would rise?”  The sign above his head they all but knew, read, “King of the Jews”.

Father forgive them.  For they know not what they do.  And as these nails go through my hands, may I feel what they feel too.

Lost. Alone. Afraid.  In fear of the Truth.

Father, into your hands I now set my spirit free.  And with my head I bow to your authority.  It is done and finished now for me.

King of the Jews, carry my cross.  Because I believe that you are who you say you are.  King of the Jews.  Remember me.  When I come home to live with you in eternity.

The sign above His head still speaks the truth.  Still to this day, it reads:

“King of the Jews.”

King of the Jews.  Thank you.  I bow to Your authority.  I remember You today.  I recognize Your sacrifice, Your great humility; humility that has finished the work of redemption.  Redemption for my sinful heart, redemption for our broken world.

I love that You are who You say You are.  It is my prayer that You would not go unrecognized by this generation.

King of the Jews.  I recognize you with my life.  It is my prayer that through my days lived on this earth, others will recognize You, follow You and fall in love with You.  The One who died to set us free.

Pause for a moment and listen to this song highlighted below.  Thank this humble King. Enter into and recognize His sacrificial love for you, His sacrificial love for all the world.

King of the Jews by Rita Springer