Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

If you could only recommend ONE BOOK (other than the Bible) to someone who was looking for meaning in life, which would you recommend?

I would offer them one of my all-time favorites, “The Practice of The Presence of God.”

“There is no sweeter manner of living in the world than continuous communion with God…If I were a preacher, I would preach nothing but practicing the presence of God.  If I were to be responsible for guiding souls in the right direction, I would urge everyone to be aware of God’s constant presence, of for no other reason than because His presence is a delight to our souls and spirits.” (p.33-34)

I can’t remember how many times I’ve revisited it.  For years, though, I have picked up my worn copy of this book to be reminded of the One Thing that matters, to see again what it looks like to practice the presence of God, and to be encouraged in my pursuit of such living.

It’s a concise 95 pages of 300 year old wisdom of a soldier-turned-monk named Brother Lawrence (written in simple modern-day language, of course).  Brother Lawrence was given the task among his order of serving in the kitchen.  It was in the daily duties of cooking, washing and working that He met Grace face to face, and learned the joy of constantly practicing the presence of God.

It was said of him that “one had only to look at him to desire to dwell in God’s presence even as he did, no matter how rushed one might be.”  This book is like taking a glimpse into Brother Lawrence’s life.

Nothing would thrill me more, than to send you a copy to enjoy as well.

1*So I know who is interested in entering the giveaway, please leave a comment sharing your favorite book.

2*For another entry, please consider following me (see the left hand margin of this blog) on Email, Twitter, and/or FaceBook and then comment saying you did so.

I am honored to have you visit today, honored that you may choose to receive notices of my writings in your Inboxes, Twitter feed and FaceBook accounts and would be even more honored to send you this life-changing book.

I will keep the giveaway open until Tuesday, May 29 and will announce the winner on Wednesday, May 30.