Tags

, , , , , , ,

An excerpt from my journal on May 9, 2007-  A ripe 23 years old. Young marriage, recently returned from post-tsunami development in Sri Lanka, up to my elbows in school (and no where close to finishing), newly pregnant with baby uno, next to no money and no health insurance, and probably other drama not worthy of remembering.  

In short, overwhelmed and scared out of my mind.  

BUT GOD.  He amazes me.  How He’s led, strengthened and been the most trustworthy place, year after year. If you are facing a trial, would you join me in TRUST, and adopt this prayer as your own?

 As for God, his way is perfect:
The Lord’s word is flawless;
he shields all who take refuge in him….

Lord, I thank you.

Right now- in all of this, You light the lamp of our hearts, and You illumine the darkness around us.  When we feel overwhelmed, tired, discouraged and afraid, we can trust that through this season, You are training us for a battle, and a victory, bigger than what meets the eye. 

You are preparing us to be able to run a troop, and leap over walls.  Your training is perfect, Your plans are unfailing, and Your word is tried and true.  You are the One who girds us with strength- You set our feet on high ground.  Thank You that You have given us the shield of Your salvation as our protection in this season of trial.  Your right hand is daily upholding us.  You are our rock which we can trust to keep us steady and sure!

Thank you, Father- for you are so very gentle with us, as You lead us.

… YOUR GENTLENESS MAKES US GREAT …

We trust You to continue to enlarge the path beneath us.  I thank You that our feet have not slipped, and in Your care, we will continue to walk in strength.

Jesus- You are our Good Shepherd.  Our hearts belong to You alone.

May you receive all honor and glory from this season of our life and always.

Amen.

You, Lord, keep my lamp burning;
my God turns my darkness into light.
With your help I can advance against a troop[e];
with my God I can scale a wall.

As for God, his way is perfect:
The Lord’s word is flawless;
he shields all who take refuge in him.
 For who is God besides the Lord?
And who is the Rock except our God?
 It is God who arms me with strength
and keeps my way secure.
 He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
he causes me to stand on the heights.
 He trains my hands for battle;
my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
You make your saving help my shield,
and your right hand sustains me;
your help has made me great.
 You provide a broad path for my feet,
so that my ankles do not give way.

Psalm 18:28-36