Tags

, , , , , , ,

“…the LORD God called to the man, and said to him, “Where are you?” (Genesis 3:9)

We mess up in life, and we hide.  It’s our nature.  But when we get turned around, confused and dirty, He doesn’t flare His nostrils and fume, He comes looking for us in love.

God is love.  And His relentless love is our constant pursuer.  He moves quickly towards us with loving-kindness and mercy.  He reaches out, desiring to hold us close, even in our shame, in our nakedness, and in our smelly pit of whatever it is we can’t seem to shake.  When we are at our worst, He comes closer.  When we are humiliated and hiding, He comes looking for us and speaks life over us.  When we are wet with tears of regret, He draws us near with His tender love.

God is a compassionate God, slow to anger and quick to show mercy. (Psalm 103:8)

Compassionate.  Slow to anger.  Quick to show mercy.

He is not afraid of our broken and messy lives.  The truth of His very near love and His trustworthy Word can penetrate right through the lies that keep us hiding in our shame.  Lies that say, “God is frustrated with me.” “God will never be able to use me for His plans.” “I have to keep this struggle a secret because if anyone found out, I’ll be despised.”  “God is disappointed with me.”  “I’ll never be good enough to please God.”

Image-36

He knows our frailty, and our specific heart-needs.  He died for our freedom from shame, and our entrance into REAL Life.  His is the most ACTIVE MERCY we could ever ask for or imagine.  His active and tender mercy reaches past our mess and into our most real need.

He pursues, and our job is to respond: to come out of hiding and step towards Him.  

God does not require us to be “clean” when we come to Him.  He invites us to approach Him boldly, even in our mess.

He is faithful to cleanse us, to love us and to heal us right where we are.  He’s that good.

So let us come near to Him.  For His nearness, is our good.

“So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God.  There we will receive His mercy and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” (Hebrews 4:16)

If you feel drawn towards Him, pray with me now:

God- thank you that Your word is a trustworthy window into Your heart.  I want to know You and see You and be near You, even in the times I feel unworthy.  I’m learning that You, Lord, are slow to anger, and quick to show mercy to me today, right now, even in this moment.  You are quick to offer second chances, even when I beat myself up over constant failures.  You are quick to meet me here, and You lovingly bridged the gap that separated us.  I have full access to Your love, and such endless love and compassion amazes me and is strong enough to set me free.  I am learning to trust that You are good, and that You are pursuing me with kindness, gentleness and goodness, even now.  I give myself to Your pursuit, and I say yes to Your love today.  Yes to the life abundant You offer.  I open my heart to the pulsing love of heaven and ask for Your love to beat in my heart today.  Cleanse me with truth, and light the path so that I can walk with you into the life You have for me, one day at a time. 

In Jesus name.  Let it be.