Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey friends….I am super excited (but not quite ready) to debut a new series I’ve prepped for you.  Here’s a hint…it’s about a suburban mom (me) rebelling against my cul-de-sac comfort bubble…(and how I want MORE for myself and my kids).

So for now, here’s a teaser along the same lines of my upcoming series, and it’s based on an idea from my good friends at UnBound.   

For the month of July, UnBound is hosting a “tip of the day” on instagram, giving daily practical ideas for how YOU can fight human trafficking.  (Don’t you just love that?!  You should follow them on instagram @unboundnow to get the tips, if you are not already.)

These ideas are especially perfect for those of us who can’t go on exotic trips to take down giants of injustice, but who CAN make a difference through daily choices of purchase, prayer, awareness and speaking up for the voiceless.  

Today I’m passing along one tip from UnBound that I loved this week:

TIP: Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is, Everyday purchases supporting freedom. 

There is a “story behind every barcode”.  There are people and communities involved in the production of all that we purchase.  –> Click to Tweet

The Free2Work App helps you become a conscious consumer, and discover which brands and products address modern-day slavery.  It “grades companies based on a scale of “A” to “F” based on their efforts to address forced and child labor.”  Learn more about this project on their website by clicking here.

photo-1

The (free) “Free2Work” app is available for you to download now! (It’s a project from the Not For Sale Campaign...I’ve written about this organization here.)

These are pics of the Free2Work app I took on my iPhone as I was getting familiar with it.  I’m so pumped to have found it, and I think you’re really going to like it.

photo-2

The Free2Work app even lets you scan products WHILE YOU SHOP to find out if they were produced with integrity –> Click to Tweet

photo-3

So far, I’ve been surprised by some of the places and brands I shop.  And I’ve discovered some great new companies I’ve never even heard of.  It’s the weekend, friends, and we’ve got some shopping to do…and this app makes it easy!!  YESSSSSSSSSSS!

If you try Free2Work, let me know!  I’d LOVE to hear about the new “freedom-loving” brands you discover.