“The supreme need in most of our lives is often the most overlooked–namely, the need for an uncompromising trust in the love of God.” -Brennan Manning

Last week I talked about a scripture that defines “sexy”, and what it really means to love.  But in order to live that out, I need to first be filled up with a Greater, more Real Love– Love Himself.

A Prayer

Today I’m praying this prayer, so that I can love in such a way that draws my man and my marriage into connection with the the One who is Real Love.

God~

You know me fully.  I am needy.  And craving love.  And so often, I’m disappointed in the loves of this world, and left so.very.empty.  So empty I feel unable to love and serve and honor those in my life.

So I come to you.  And I thank you.  Thank you that more than anything else, I can trust in your love for me.

Your love is real love.  It is unchanging, unmoving, unrelenting.  It pursues me on my best and worst days.  Your love reaches to the deepest places of my heart and knows me in the most inmate places of my soul.  You are the Lover of My Soul, and without you, I do not know real love.  You see me, know me and love me in a way that satisfies like nothing else.  I come to you right now to have my heart needs met.

Father, translate this deep love into the way I love and serve my husband today.  Fill me up to overflowing, so that I don’t love him out of a place of manipulation, neediness or insecurity, but out of confidence, peace and clear vision–because I have been saturated in your unfailing love.

Fill him with that same love.  United us in your love, and draw us near together in you.  Meet him in his stress, pressure and place of need, and give him eyes to see and a heart to rely on your strong love.

In Jesus Mighty Name and in His Real Love ~ Amen

Last year, I wrote a Bible study on living rooted and grounded in God’s love.  I wanted to share a few of the closing scripture statements for one of the chapters with you today.  I read them and claimed them afresh in my time with God this morning, and will be revisiting them today as I focus on Real Love.

May we be rooted and grounded in REAL LOVE, so that we may give the ones closest to us REAL LOVE.

~

I know and believe the love God has for me. (1 John 4:16)

God’s love is more than enough for me, even if I am tired or fearful. (1 John 4:17-18)

God’s love is so strong that nothing can shake it; therefore no part of my life is too far gone, too shaky or too unstable for His love. (Isa. 54:10)

God is daily saturating my heart with more of His love than I can even comprehend.  (Eph. 3:17-20)

He is pouring His love into my life through the Holy Spirit, filling me to an overflowing fullness that will bring life-changing hope. (Romans 5:5)

God is rich in mercy, and His love for me is great; so great that NOTHING, no person, no tragedy, no future event, no past event, no fear, nothing can separate me from it. (Eph. 2:4; Romans 8:35)

I daily experience the everlasting love and rich mercy of God, and therefore have more than enough love to give away to the people in my life today, as an overflow of my intimate Father-child connection to His heart. (Jer. 31:3; Ephesians 2:4; 1 John 3:1)