Tags

, , , ,

Once again, I am wowed by God as I study His word.  I am reading Beth Moore’s book, “To Live is Christ”, a study on the life of Paul.  As Beth explains Paul’s educational background in the Jewish law, and the intense debates and arguments he must have participated in as a young Pharisee, this verse means all the more:

“We know that we all possess knowledge. Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up. The man who thinks he knows something does not yet know as he ought to know. But the man who loves God is known by God.” (1 Cor. 8: 1– 3)

Beth says: “The knowledge that puffed Saul’s head was not wasted, but it wasn’t until years later that he discovered love. As students of God’s Word, let’s commit to receiving the full benefit of studying Scripture. Don’t study just to increase knowledge. Let every study of the Word of God increase your love for the divine Author!

Moore, Beth (2008-03-01). To Live Is Christ (p. 22). B&H Publishing Group. Kindle Edition.

To be honest, with the “culture war” debates swirling around our nation right now, my heart feels like it’s suffocating.  I alluded to this last week.  So many words.  So many strong arguments.  So much confusion.  So much “knowledge” on ALL sides of the debates.

But then I remember the ONE THING Jesus said is needed:

“Martha had a sister called Mary, who sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word.  But Martha was distracted with much serving…  Martha asked Jesus ‘Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone?  Tell her to help me.’  And Jesus answered her and said to her, ‘Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things.  But ONE THING is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.”  

Luke 10:39-42

I pray for my life to built built son a-9

This ONE THING I crave (and believe we all need) is to be in God’s presence, (Psalm 27:4) to sit at His feet in adoration and to learn a deeper love from Him as I study His word and study His heart.

Because it’s there (listening and learning at Jesus’ feet, not arguing in fear and worry) that my heart is changed to be like His.

And it’s after being in His presence and being in awe of His nature revealed through His precepts that I can express a deeper love for all people.  Even if we disagree.

God’s love is not “political”, but transformational. –> click to tweet. 

And it’s transformational love, that overflows from His presence and His precepts that builds us all up, and empowers us to live well.  It’s experiencing love at His feet that helps us move forward in His good plans for our lives, and for our nation.

As I “sit at the feet of Jesus” and study His word (with humility and worship at the center), I pray for my life and my family to be centered on God’s precepts, not pop culture or politics.  And that from that place of worship, we be filled to LOVE in a way that builds.